Broadcom Foundation supports innovative research at universities around the world, where it provides unrestricted funding to foster innovation, insight and leadership in engineering and related fields. Broadcom Foundation’s STEM University Committee is charged with identifying university programs. The Committee has also initiated fellowship programs in universities where graduate students are working with professors to create cutting-edge technologies.

The STEM University Committee works closely with faculty to reward the research of graduate students through the Broadcom Foundation University Research Competition. It focuses on academic leaders throughout the globe where Broadcom has a presence, including California and the United States, Canada, China, India, Ireland, Israel, Taiwan, Korea, the United Kingdom and Europe.


Broadcom Foundation sponsors the annual University Research Competition to reward innovative graduate students doing research at top universities around the world. Universities receiving funding from the Broadcom Foundation in the prior year are invited to nominate a student to participate in the Broadcom Foundation University Research Competition. Twelve finalists present their work to more than 500 Broadcom engineers, who serve as judges during Broadcom’s Annual Technical Conference. The top three competitors are presented with a cash award from Broadcom Foundation at the conference banquet.

The finalists and their professors have a special opportunity to visit the Henry Samueli School of Engineering at the University of California, Irvine (UCI) as guests of the Dean. In addition to touring academic labs at UCI, the finalists are given a special inside look at laboratories at Broadcom where they can gain understanding of the importance of technology transfer from their academic environment to a world-renowned company. They also have an opportunity to visit the Broadcom Demo Center where vast arrays of products incorporating Broadcom technology are on display.


Ben Klein, 1st Place Winner

First Place

Benjamin Klein, Tel Aviv University, Israel, for his project “From Image to Text and Back Using Deep Learning.” Klein is creating a unified semantic representation that allows computers to understand images and sentences using deep neural networks. In the short term, this work could be used for creating search engines on images and for systems that could assist the blind and visually impaired.

Tejasvi Anand, 2nd Place Winner

Second Place

Tejasvi Anand, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, for his project “Energy Proportional Wireline Communication System.” Anand is innovating a scalable high-speed serial link with extremely fast locking time that enables power-efficient operation.The low-energy transceivers he is designing can help tame the huge energy consumption in large data centers by taking advantage of idle time in the interconnect fabric.

Amr Suleiman, 3rd Place Winner

Third Place

Amr Suleiman, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, for his project “A 45mW Object Detector Accelerator for High Definition Video at 60fps.” Suleiman is developing an energy-efficient object detector in silicon that reduces energy consumption by 4.5x using parallel processing, voltage scaling and image pre-processing. This work could be applied in many embedded systems, such as automotive moving object detection, Unmanned Aerial Vehicles and portable electronics.

Jonathon Spaulding, 1st Place Winner

First Place

Jonathon Spaulding, Stanford University, for his project “Finite Rate of Innovation for Ultrasound Imagers.” Spaulding showed that it is possible to drastically lower the power consumption and hardware complexity for ultrasonic probes. This technology is designed to allow doctors to bring ultrasound imaging on the go and into offices where power and funding put most ultrasound imaging devices out of reach.

Shir Landau Feibish, 2nd Place Winner

Second Place

Shir Landau Feibish, Tel Aviv University, Israel, for her project “Automated Signature Extraction for High Volume Attacks.” Feibish researched algorithms that can be used to detect and stop DDOS attacks much faster and more accurately than current manual methods. The algorithm Feibish helped develop can be used for other purposes such as DNA sequencing, detecting patterns in DNA such as cancer vulnerabilities in large populations.

Hans Meyvaert, 3rd Place Winner

Third Place

Hans Meyvaert, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium, for his project “Monolithic Mains AC-DC Step-down Converter with Custom High-voltage Passives in CMOS Technology.” Meyvaert created an alternative power source for devices that consume power while in standby mode. Maeyvert’s research reduces average standby power consumption by an astonishing 250 percent, while affordable enough to be an attractive solution for device manufacturers.

Yanghyo Kim, 1st Place Winner

First Place

Yanghyo (Rod) Kim from the University of California, Los Angeles, who found an innovative way to transfer data, sans conductive wires. He wowed the crowd with a demo that accomplished data transfer between two nodes using only lightweight, inexpensive plastic tubing.

Wanghua Wu, 2nd Place Winner

Second Place

Wanghua Wu from Delft University of Technology in the Netherlands whose research on creating low-cost, low-power transmitters enables millimeter wave signals and Gigabit-speed data to be sent over short distances. She predicted that the potential power and cost savings of the technology could help with the development of sensors for self-driving cars and enhance the smart grid.

Manuel Monge, 3rd Place Winner

Third Place

Manuel Monge of the California Institute of Technology, who helped create a microchip that can be implanted in a retinal prosthesis, powered by glasses. The optical technology would dramatically improve vision for people who are blind or who are losing their vision due to degenerative diseases. His display included a video that showed how blind people would be able to see again (including recognizing faces and reading text) with the help of the implanted chip.

Adrian Tang, 1st Place Winner

First Place

Adrian Tang from the University of California, Los Angeles, who was selected for his innovative study of radars for low‐cost, low‐power and portable THz imaging systems which have many new applications in security screening, trace gas detection and biomedical imaging.

Benjamin Hershberg, 1st Place Winner

Second Place

Benjamin Hershberg from Oregon State University, whose project on ring amplifiers that process analog signals rapidly, accurately and efficiently, demonstrated how to make the next generation of devices smaller, lower-power and less expensive.

Youn Sung Park, 3rd Place Winner

Third Place

Youn Sung Park of the University of Michigan, who was recognized for his research on reduced power consumption digital signal processors (DSP) which can increase battery life in portable devices, cutting energy bills for home networking and entertainment systems.